Bau House Dog Cafe – Seoul, South Korea

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul

When I got home from Seoul, my mom said “Mukhang yinakap mo lahat ng aso doon ah! (looks like you hugged all the dogs there)” to which I said, “I love them all and I love Korea because they love dogs”. I couldn’t leave without visiting a dog cafe. We found Bau House accidentally on the way back home from trying to locate a famous Korean BBQ restaurant that ceased to exist, close to the Hapjeong station. Through the window, we saw a neat looking cafe with lots and lots of happy dogs so we said we’d be back.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul

And back we were. The nice thing about Bau House is that it’s a big cafe with two divisions. Up front is where the small dogs hang out and out back is where the medium to large size dogs are.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul

So here’s the drill, to hang around the adorable dogs, each person has to order at least one drink and with that you can stay as long as you want. The drinks are about 8000 won (about $8) and even if they’re pricey, they’re actually pretty good. Liana and I had a Banana Yogurt Shake while Carina had a cuppa coffee.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul

The dogs there were all pretty sweet, they go up to you, sniff you, beg to be pet and sit on your lap. The dogs also mostly speak Korean but once in a while you’ll meet one who responds to ‘sit’. When we got there, these two dogs flocked to Carina to sandwich her.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
Some can get assertive when you get treats for them, a certain Afghan Hound was persistent and huge so he was tough to turn down. Liana captioned this photo: “The Hunger Games”

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
Kkambi was the first doggie that went up to us and sat with Carina. He was such a sweetie.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
There’s a dog menu that they leave on the tables so you can call the dogs by their names and find out what breed they are. We found it cute that the mix-breed dogs were labelled “x-file”.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
Kkambi stuck to us for the long haul. I’d like to think that he liked us. Such a soft cuddly baby and since he’s an x-file I don’t think I’ve seen a dog quite like him either.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
When we had treats, he revealed his super power to us. Kkambi stands on two legs and melts your heart so you buy him treats. This is what happened with Carina.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
LOL, as you can see she is holding her wallet to buy more food for Kkambi.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
At one point, a big dog tried to invade the little dog area and all the small dogs started barking and got mad.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
So one of the pet handlers there started tapping this gadget to calm the dogs down.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
These chihuahuas were whining and crying cause they wanted to sit on Carina’s lap too. Most of the dogs gravitated towards her.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
This grumpy black dog didn’t like me but perched himself on Liana’s lap to sleep.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
This Schnauzer was chillin’ like a villain.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
Yorkie in a cute winter sweater

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
There was one dog with dyed hair, it was white with purple ears and it liked me. It was kind of funny looking but I picked it up and sat with it for a while anyway.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
I found this x-file really cute cause of its puppy face. It looked like a Jack Russell-Corgi mix. So adorbs.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
The dogs there were really so sweet and well-behaved. They just went up to me and sat with me even if I had no treats left to give them. πŸ™‚

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
Riong sat next to me and even napped on my lap. This was my first encounter with a Brittany dog and now I kind of want one.

Bau House Dog Cafe - Seoul
Ugh, this is the best dog cafe ever.

Bau House Dog Cafe
Jeil Bldg. 1F,
394-44 Seogyo-dong,
Mapo-gu, Seoul,
South Korea

Some directions: Get off the Hapjeong Train Station on Exit 3, you will see a pet shop on your left. Walk a bit more and turn left into the building next to it, Bau House should be there.

8 comments
    • Sarie said:

      I’ve never been! What’s it like there? πŸ˜€

      • Basically the same as Bau House with the dog cafe concept, though the interiors are more of wood πŸ™‚

    • Sarie said:

      They were the adorablest hahaha πŸ˜€

  1. annie said:

    hahaha love the hunger games πŸ˜›

    • Sarie said:

      I do too but in this case, not really! Hahaha that Afghan hound was a bit much.

Leave a comment