Wildflour Cafe + Bakery (Recently) – BGC

Just before recently, the last time I had a meal at Wildflour was probably a good two years ago. I’ve been back twice in the last week and what can I say? The place still has it. It’s packed, has an interesting menu and serves good food. I can’t ask for more.

Excuse the photos on this, just shot with my Samsung S3 which I feel has deteriorated in terms of photo quality. Suddenly everything’s so grainy and photos are only passably nice on Instagram. But anyway, whatever! Here’s what I had for lunch last Monday.

20140821_123748
Baby Mixed Green Salad (Php 330) – Mango vinaigrette, candied walnuts, feta cheese, lettuce. Balanced and good if you’re fond of salad on the sweet side with a hint of salty. Thought the mango vinaigrette was sweet enough so I bailed on the walnuts and mango bits and tried to get more cheese in every forkful.

d06f049a4d6cff6134c19e7584504974e5fc8180400b57bdaa304af39a605c56
When I get the chance to, I almost always order the Caramelized Onions, Bacon, Gruyere Tarte Flambee(Php 495). For a while, this was pretty inconsistent in the early stages of Wildflour. I remember being served an extra oily, crumbly batch a few years back. Thankfully, the guys at the Fort branch have mastered the art of the tarte flamee and do this dish justice. What I love about this is that the toppings are generous and that the crust is perfectly crisp.

20140821_124956
My brother ordered The Reuben and I was fortunate enough to sneak a bite. Biting into this sandwich made me miss New York a lot. Now that I’m here though this’ll have to do. My brother was pretty satisfied and from the bite I had, the meat had just the right amount of flavor.


Don’t be fooled by the name. Wildflour’s Rustichella Squid Ink Spaghetti (Php 450) is actually a tomato-based seafood pasta with squid ink noodles. I’m a sucker for squid ink pasta so when this is on the menu, I’m very likely to order this. Thought the sauce would be squid ink so I was surprised to see red. Although this wasn’t what I expected, this was far from disappointing. It proved to be a memorable dish, pasta was perfectly al dente and the black noodles added a rich squid flavor to the tomato sauce.

There goes my capsule review!

Wildflour Cafe + Bakery
G/F Net Lima Bldg., 4th Ave cor 26th St
Fort Bonifacio, Taguig
(02) 856-7600
M, T, W, Th, F, Sa: 8:00am – 11pm
Sundays: 8AM-4PM

Leave a Reply

