Wined & Dined at Cake Club – The Fort

The Cake Club
I’ve been to Cake Club a couple of times before but always just to grab a bite for dessert. I suppose they get that a lot with a name like Cake Club, it’s an instant hit when you’re looking for something sweet, obviously, cake. This week (edit: Last July), I was invited to an event especially for folks like me who blog about food. It was a Cake and Wine Pairing Night, hosted by the kind people from Sommelier Wines and the Diamond Hotel. But before we dove right into dessert and alcohol, they fed us a full dinner; favorites from the Cake Club’s set menu.

Yep, you heard me right! They serve savory dishes as well. I’ll reupdate this when I get a hold of the prices but yes, if you haven’t looked through their menu and only ever enter here when you want cake or ice cream or macarons then this is actual news for you.

The Cake Club
They started us off with French Onion Soup (Php 250). This was generally alright, I usually like my onion soup with a burnt cheese top. This particular dish was topped with a slice of bread and melted Swiss cheese that was stringy and chewy. It was a mess for me to eat but I liked that the broth was light and the onions were caramelized perfection.

The Cake Club
Next up was a salad known as the GM’s Favorite Salad (Php 250). The greens were nestled in a mini-Parmesan crisp basket which was a practical solution that packed a punch of flavor. In my opinion, that was the highlight of the salad.

The Cake Club
We were bombarded with a slew of main courses but I can’t complain. This is what a table of food bloggers looks like. Notice how everyone’s standing, moving dishes to opposite unused tables to get the perfect shot.

The Cake Club
I’ve always been really big on beef belly. So I was glad when an order of Slow-Roasted Beef Belly (Php 415) came out on a heap of brown rice. The meat was tender and had that melt-in-your-mouth quality, the fat was sticky with a gelatinous consistency. Pretty awesome.

The Cake Club
Mentaiko Spaghetti (Php 370) is basically this creamy Japanese dish with cod roe, naturally it tastes pretty fishy. I thought this was pretty good but could’ve afforded to be a wee bit fishier.

The Cake Club
Roast Chicken with Haricot Vert & Potatoes (Php 415) I distinctly remember enjoying the gravy here and thinking that the chicken was tasty and well-seasoned.

The Cake Club
Salmon with Rissoto (Php 455) Usually I’m a sucker for salmon and found nothing wrong with this dish. I liked how creamy everything tasted.

The Cake Club
Okay, so I’m not much of a fries person but when they brought out their Truffle Fries (Php 180), I was suckered in. These fries are absolute perfection, the truffle essence distinct.

DSCF6513
So the event was for a Cake & Wine pairing but since I’m not much of a drinker, I’d like to turn you all over to a guide on The Pickiest Eater for more detailed information on that. I really did enjoy all the sweets though,
especially the Baked Cheesecake.

The Cake Club
Been hearing good things about The Cake Club’s ice cream so when I told Melanie from PR about it, she whipped out some taste samples for us. Here’s a bite of their Salted Caramel Ice Cream which I thought was excellent.

The Cake Club
Made some new friends in this event, here’s Richie & Rina from The Pickiest Eater.

The Cake Club
Then here’s Melanie from The Diamond Hotel with fellow bloggers, Guia and Sumi.

The Cake Club
Me being a poseur with some wine + Spanky, who invited me to the event.

Apologies this post was so delayed it was in my drafts but I never got around to finishing the thing. :0 Had such a great time meeting fellow lovers of all things food, maybe I’ll bump into them again sometime soon.

The Cake Club by Diamond Hotel
2F East Block
Bonifacio High Street Central
Taguig
6213176

1 comment
  1. Anonymous said:

    Philippines SUCKS!
    They are the most useless & stupid (shit) country (& their ugly & dirty people).
    Filipinos are scum, dumb morons & gangster assholes.(Ugly government & people)
    All Filipinos must be removed from this face of this planet.
    Philippines & Filipinos (forever) SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS & SUCKS!
    (P.S.Couples SUCKS!)
    (GO & DIE, Filipinos!)

Leave a comment