The Village Tavern – BHS Central, Taguig

Three days ago, I went to The Village Tavern in BHS Central to celebrate their first anniversary with other folks in the media. It was my first time there and to be completely honest, before I got their email invite I hadn’t ever heard of the place. I also learned that the restaurant was a franchise from the US. Interiors are spacious with a whole lot of tables and lights are quite dim, far far away from the rundown look of a typical tavern.

The Village Tavern

We were all served 7 entrees in total and I was seated in a table with 5 other people since I didn’t know anyone there. The upside was, I got to meet other nice people who enjoy writing about food. The downside? Sharing single-serving entrees with like, 5 other people. That was hard.

The Village Tavern
For starters, they sent out two full-size servings of Crispy Clams with Spicy Lemon Dip. Loved the spicy, sour dipping sauce but I’d appreciate the dish more if they used bigger clams. These ones were so small I couldn’t even fork them. They were pretty good though but best eaten with yer hands.

The Village Tavern
Next up was this huge salad which was quite alright as well but kind of lacked dressing. It’s called the Fully Loaded Romaine Heart and consists of romaine lettuce served with bacon, red onions, tomatoes and topped with a bleu cheese dressing.

The Village Tavern
Roasted Bone Marrow‘s kind of a really in dish these days but I was still glad to see it on the menu. An interesting thing head chef, Josh Boutwood did here adding some apple cider vinegar dip to the picture.

The Village Tavern
Typically, bone marrow’s served with bread and herb salt which they did here. The acv dip gave it a kick though that took it to a wholly different dimension. Forgot to mention, there was fried parsley that came with the dish as well but I didnt think it made much of a difference.

Ok, just so everyone knows, the next few dishes I am posting were split between me and 5 other adults so I basically only had a little taste of each.

The Village Tavern
This is a Pan-seared Atlantic cod fish cooked with Spanish chorizo, garlic served on a bed of roasted potatoes and caramelized onion. Wasn’t such a fan of the texture of the fish, since it was dry and rough. What was under the fish though was a different story. The chorizo, potato and onion combo was delicious. We enjoyed every single bit of it sans fish.

The Village Tavern
This is the 35 oz Tomahawk steak in all it’s glory. This was presented to us for photographic purposes only. If one were to order this, I suggest it’d be best to split this between just 3 people. An average serving of steak is 8 oz, this one’s just 35 oz and you have that huge axe handle to consider in terms of weight. Be warned.

The Village Tavern
Here’s the Tomahawk, served to our table of 6. We had half a strip each, it was kind of sad. Imagine, strangers splitting half a strip of steak with each other. In all honesty, this really wasn’t anything great. Meat was lean and it didn’t have the melt-in-your-mouth quality you look for in a steak. Also, it wasn’t served to us hot. Probably was the display steak we all photographed divided by all tables. Served with mustard which I didn’t try cause I wanted to get a bite of just the meat to judge its bare quality.

The Village Tavern
Again, divided into 6 this was the last of the main dishes and it was seriously the best. This sous-vide rosemary infused rack of lamb was wow worthy. So good, I was upset I had to share with 5 other people. I mean, really, I could’ve gobbled up two of these myself just cause it was that excellent. The lamb was perfectly pink, tender and easily slipped off the bone served atop a bed of mash potatoes. In the sous vide bath for 2 hours, I could really taste the rosemary in every bite. I only had 3 bites though so I’m definitely coming back for this.

The Village Tavern
Dessert came in the form of a Frozen Lime Souffle. Yup, we all split this. This tasted interesting, the sorbet in the middle didn’t even taste like a sorbet. It was refreshing, a nice palette cleanser.

I don’t have the prices up for this post cause these new dishes all weren’t priced yet when served to us. I think these guys will start showing up on the menu next month so head there for some lamb when you can cause that’s what I plan to do.

Village Tavern
(2nd floor across Jamba Juice)
7th Ave. corner 29th St. South,
Upper Ground Floor, East Superblock
Bonifacio High Street Central
Mobile: +63 949 761-6258
Operating Hours:
Sunday to Thursday, 11.00am to 11.00pm
Friday to Saturday, 11.00am to 12.00mn

DISCLAIMER: Opinions and photos are mine. Food was free but if you read the whole thing, it’s obvious I’m completely honest. I’d like to thank the Bistro Group for hosting us that night and Perkcomm Inc. for the invitation.

2 comments
    • Sarie said:

      I’ll take you. When ya free, miss?

Leave a Reply

