Chubby Chicken – Katipunan, QC

Chubby Chicken
The nice folks at Chubby Chicken had me over for lunch the other day to sample some dishes. I’m hardly ever in the Katipunan area so I had to schedule this right, I was pretty excited though because based on what I read about them online. When I found the restaurant on the corner of Rosa Alvero St. and Esteban Abada (behind McDo Katipunan), there were quite a lot of people so it was pretty busy. I approached the cashier and found out the owner had planned out a set menu for me.

Chubby Chicken
Their signature dish, Chubby Chicken, seemed like something I’d have constructed myself. I’m a big garlic sauce fiend and combining it with a hunky soy glazed chicken leg was nothing short of genius. At just Php 118 for 2 pieces, it’s obviously a steal. The chicken legs they use are big pieces that remind me so much of home. They are extremely generous with their soy glaze and when you bite into the chicken, there’s a resounding crunch. Combining the sweet, salty glazed chicken with a creamy garlic sauce tasted just about right. Service is fast too which is such a plus.

Chubby Chicken
Next was Carbonara with Chubby Chicken Strips (Php 145). I like it when carbonara is so thick and creamy and slathered generously with about-to-be-crispy bacon. Taste wise, this was yummy carbonara, comparable to the kind I’d make at home. My only issue with this though was that the noodles weren’t al dente, they were a tad mushy. The Chicken Strips were like a elongated chicken nuggets served with glaze on the side. I enjoyed how meaty this was but I prefer the original chicken just cause it’s crispier.

Chubby Chicken
They also served a Chubby Chicken Taco with Fries (Php 75). While I liked how this tasted since it was really garlicky I wish there were two chicken strips in there to balance out how big the taco shell was.

Chubby Chicken
Chubby Chicken also provides a wide array of imported soda. They let me sample this A&W Cream Soda for kicks.

Chubby Chicken
Carina’s sister Bebeng ordered the Chubby Chicken Parmigiana (Php 165) and I had a bite of it and thought it was just okay.

Chubby Chicken
For dessert, they served us Chubby Twinkies (Php 115) and since the Twinkies company closed in America I don’t know how long they’ll be able to keep this up. The Twinkie was coated in batter and fried to a crisp, then they put chocolate ice cream next to it topped with chocolate crumbs. I have this weird thing against fried bread so I wouldn’t have been a good judge for this but Beng certainly enjoyed it. She liked the Twinkie corners best because they were so crisp.

Chubby Chicken
Also, this might sound super funny but I thought their chicken was so good. I ordered another 2 pieces but this time, I paid for it. Hahaha

Chubby Chicken
Seriously, looking at these photos again made my mouth water and if they could deliver I’d probably order often. The verdict? If I ever find myself in Katipunan and I’m craving a good fried chicken meal, you’ll find me back in Chubby Chicken.

Chubby Chicken
G/F Unit 1B Xavier Residences
Esteban Abada St cor Alvero St
(behind McDo Katipunan)
Loyola Heights, Quezon City
Philippines
09172526480

Disclaimer: Chubby Chicken invited me to try their food so I could review it. Beng paid for her Chicken Parmigiana and I paid for an additional order of Chubby Chicken. Views posted are honest and mine. LOL I don’t really know how disclaimers should go obviously.

12 comments
  1. gingerparas said:

    Wow Sarie! You get invited by restaurants to review their food na. I’m super impressed!

    • Sarie said:

      Hahaha hi tita ginger well just a few lang naman.

  2. Ask ko lang po kung paano po transportation papunta dyan? Manggagaling po kasi ako ng Tandang Sora then sakay ng Jeep na may signboard na katipunan.

    • Sarie said:

      Ah, pwede ka sumakay ng LRT 2 tapos bumaba sa Katipunan Station. Para madali, hanapin mo yung McDo along Katipunan tapos turn inside Rosa Alvero St. at makikita mo yung Chubby Chicken sa intersection ng Rosa Alvero at Esteban Abada.

  3. I’m glad service has improved. I ate there when they had just opened and felt neglected by staff even though ours was the only table occupied.

    • Sarie said:

      Eep, that sucks. Things were fine and dandy when I was there and it was a full house.

  4. Chi said:

    Nice!! I love Chubby Chicken! And they’re right beside Starr’s pa, which you should have also reviewed! πŸ˜€

    • Sarie said:

      Thanks Chi! Is Starrs the milkshake place? Looked interesting nga!

      • Chi said:

        Yes! Try it next time πŸ™‚ The berry flavored ones are yaaaammy.

      • Sarie said:

        Will try to head back when I’m in the area. πŸ™‚

  5. Cai said:

    Hi Sarie! Thought you should know that Hostess, the company that owns Twinkies, hasn’t closed down, so Twinkies aren’t out of production yet. (Yay!) They did, however, go bankrupt, so they’re selling Twinkies, Ding Dongs, etc. They already have a bunch of bidders because obvs nobody wants Twinkies to disappear! That would be a fate worse than death! Hahaha πŸ™‚

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/30/twinkies-deal-hostess-bidder_n_2586715.html

    • Sarie said:

      Hi Cai, thank god. Hahaha I thought Twinkies was gone for good cause I saw it on TV once when I was inattentively watching CNN. I appreciate the information. Thanks for the comment. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

