Ukkokei Ramen Ron – Makati

Octoberfood2012
I don’t know how long Ukkokei Ramen Ron has been around but I’ve only recently tried it. There was quite a buzz online when their Makati branch suddenly closed down for a while, with a government notice taped to the front door. Rumor said that taxes weren’t properly filed and I heard a funny story about an ex-president bullying them when they ran out of his favorite bowl. Whatever it was, I don’t really care. I’m just glad they’re back in business.

I’ve been meaning to try the Tantanmen (Php 390) for a long, long time. I remember my friend Jason talking about it when I was just fresh out of advertising. He said it was the best ramen ever and I severely trust his taste. Ramen was never a dish I’d crave for or look for, perhaps because I never had REALLY GOOD ramen. I always thought noodle soup dishes were boring and bland and for when people were sick.

Octoberfood2012
The Tantanmen seriously proved me wrong though. Look at that layu floating at the surface of the bowl. Layu is Japanese chilli oil infused with sesame oil. It is said that every night, only 12 bowls of Tantanmen ramen are served. This dish isn’t on the menu, it’s on the wall and considered to be part of the “Special Ramen” line-up. They also only start serving this at 6PM so get there before they run out.

Octoberfood2012
So what’s in a bowl of Tantanmen? It’s evidently orange cause of the layu and it’s got ground pork and a rich milky miso-based broth that tastes like bones were boiled for hours and hours. The noodles in this are yellow and curly which by guessing, are egg noodles. These were perfectly al dente, yum. Taste-wise, the broth was just really thick and won me over. I have no words. It’s just the best ramen ever. Now I get why people actually like ramen.

Octoberfood2012
There was nothing special or noteworthy about the Yaki Gyoza (Php 120) at all so I’d rather just have to order this. I mean, it isn’t shamefully awful or anything, I’d just rather eat it elsewhere (like down the street at Yamazaki).

Octoberfood2012
Here’s Carina and her cute self, looking fresh from London. She started a girly blog recently, that ya’ll should check out if you like make-up. Read her Ukkokei post here too.

Octoberfood2012
We enjoyed the Tantanmen so much, we were lucky enough to get it two nights in a row. I must warn you though, Ukkokei’s servings are really generous! We shared just one bowl both nights and ended up pretty stuffed. Let me know if you get the chance to try a bowl yourself!

Ukkokei Ramen Ron
Address: G/F Paseo Tesoro Bldg., 822 A. Arnaiz Avenue, Makati City
Phone: 02 856 4588
Hours: Sun 11:30am–2pm
Mon-Sat 11am–10pm

11 comments
  1. One of the waitresses told me it was Erap’s security that created a scene. She said Erap was cool that Ukkokei was about to close.

    • Sarie said:

      The plot thickens! Hahaha I honestly don’t even know what happened. What’s the story?

      • Allegedly (I’m using the term so I don’t get sued, lol), Erap’s camp came to Ukkokei a few minutes before closing. Manager had to turn them away because they ran out of soup. According to the waitress, Erap was okay with it but his security wasn’t so nice. This part is a little incongruent, but they had Binay shut it down daw. Anyway, I’m just glad they’re back. I haven’t tried the Tantanmen, but it looks delicious!

        P.S., is that Raymond in the first picture?

      • Sarie said:

        What I find strange is how Erap’s security could’ve had more leverage than Erap himself in this situation. If this were true, the guy should control his peeps. The Tantanmen is THE best, you should seriously try it the next time you get the chance.

        PS. Yep, that is! We ran into him there. He also had the Tantanmen. LOL

      • Koji Arsua said:

        Ugh, I want to go now!

  2. I still haven’t tried the Tantanmen, but everyone has been raving about it! I stick to the Miso Char Siu hehe

    By the way, you have a very Nice Blog 🙂

    • Sarie said:

      I haven’t tried much else but the Tantanmen. Hahaha, I’m pretty big on spicy food and the chili/sesame/miso base here is to die for (with no exaggerations).

      Thank you! 😀 I enjoy your blog as well.

  3. Toro said:

    Ukokkei Ramen Ron is really delicious , taste of convincing even the Japanese eat !
    Popularity of ramen , seems Tan-Tan men .
    My recommendation is Karamiso ramen .

    Website:
    http:ukokkei-ramen-ron.com

Leave a Reply

