Ramen Bar – Robinson’s Magnolia


Premium Mac Reseller, Beyond the Box had an event last week to launch their MyBox VIP cards at Ramen Bar in Robinsons Magnolia last week. I was lucky I was free then so I headed over to Robinsons Magnolia for the first time (yep, most shops are closed) to go get some ramen. The event was hosted by Ramon Bautista.


They had a set menu prepared and all guests could order up to two dishes. I had the Buta Kakuni Ramen (Php 380) and an order of the Cheese Gyoza (Php 180). For drinks, they offered typical sodas, red iced tea and a choice of Calpis water or soda. Not knowing what Calpis was, I went right for the Calpis water Php 80).


The Buta Kakuni Ramen had generous helpings of really tender pork belly in a light broth with a hard boiled egg and a lot of spring onions. The broth was just alright, in terms of taste but the pork was so tender, I couldn’t help but slurp the fat just cause it had amazing texture. I’m not much of a ramen person so I’d consider myself hard to impress with this kind of dish. I asked the waiter to bring out some layu sauce to give it a kick, it was much tastier afterwards. On hindsight, I should’ve ordered the Crazy Ramen just cause I generally gravitate towards spicy food.


Liana works around the area so she came along to the event and ordered the same thing I did. I do not know how she feels about her noodles but what I do know is that we both loved the gyoza.


This is a not-so-great shot of my Calpis water and the Cheese Gyoza. Ramen Bar serves two types of gyoza, there’s the regular kind, with regular insides, served deep-friend. And there’s the cheese gyoza which has a melted pop of creamy cheese that bursts out right when you bite it. It’s like the cheese hotdog of gyozas. Excellent! They serve this with a generous helping of Japanese mayo and a typical order has 5 pieces. Calpis water, on the other hand, reminded me of both Yakult and Pocari Sweat which tasted really refreshing, in my opinion. Liana didn’t like hers so I ended up drinking two full glasses of it.


I got to participate in this simple question and answer game that was part of the program and managed to snag these Ministry of Sound headphones. They gave four of these away!


The first time I ate in Ramen Bar was over a year ago at Eastwood with Carina but now they’ve expanded to two more locations with the latest one in Robinson’s Magnolia.

Ramen Bar
G/F Eastwood Mall, E. Rodriguez Jr. Ave.
Bagumbayan, Quezon City
(02) 570-9457

G/F The Venice Piazza, McKinley Hill
Fort Bonifacio, Taguig
(02) 552-1636

3/F Robinsons Magnolia, Doña M Hemady Ave
Valencia, Quezon City

Leave a Reply

