QuickEats! Sabor Cubano – Salcedo Saturday Market

Last Saturday, my mom woke me up at around 8AM for a spontaneous trip to the Salcedo Market. I thought that was extremely early having slept at around 4AM the night before (don’t ask why) so I decided I’d just sleep in s’more. When she got home though, she brought me food from Sabor Cubano which is my tito’s Cuban girlfriend’s stall. I’ve always been curious about trying Sabor Cubano but hadn’t ever gotten the chance to until the weekend. I don’t frequent the Salcedo Market as often as I’d like to so I guess, I’m lucky I have a mom who does.

Sabor Cubano serves authentic Cuban food, cooked and prepared by Tita Ada, herself. They usually post their menu for the Salcedo Market on Facebook a day ahead so people who are fond of Cuban food or just generally curious should go and check it out.


My mom knows how much I enjoy lamb so she got me the Cajita de Fricase de Ovejo con Hongo (Hearty Lamb Stew with Mushrooms) with Arroz Blanco (White Rice), Frijoles Blanco con Puerco o Frijoles Negros con res (this bean thing), Tostones (fried banana?) and Salsa Picante (Spicy Sauce) all for Php 340. The set came in a biodegradable bento box and the servings are a lot more generous than they look in the photo.


Here’s a close up shot of the lamb stew, the dish I loved the most in the set. The white, stewed bean dish was good too but I wanted to concentrate on the flavor of the lamb. I don’t know how else to describe Cuban food other than the fact it’s really rich and tasty. My knowledge of Cuban food is seriously really limited being familiar with just the sandwiches (HA!). The stew was perfect atop a bed of piping hot rice and I think any lamb-loving Pinoy would appreciate this dish.

If I’m not mistaken, you can order these as individual dishes from Tita Ada anytime you’re craving for Cuban food. Here’s her mobile number, 0927 784 3245.


This little guy sat next to me the whole time just cause he was jealous of my lunch.

5 comments
    • Sarie said:

      That’s my darling dear, Oli McDuck!

    • Sarie said:

      I have yet to try it! Is that the beef?

Leave a Reply

