Poco Deli – Kapitolyo, Pasig


Got word about Poco Deli from my friend Jason one night when we were discussing bacon steak and the fact I don’t think I’ve ever tried it. He says he usually gets his fix from Mamou and that he can’t wait to try Cue’s version when they formally open. He also said that this place in Kapitolyo, Poco Deli is quite known for their bacon steak but every time he heads over, they’re sold out. This got me curious and since Carina and I were heading to a party in Kapitolyo that weekend, it made perfect sense to try this place out.


Poco Deli’s located just a few steps away from Charlie’s and it’s real cozy and packed inside. There’s a lot of tables and a reasonable amount of space, enough to be comfortable in. I personally love entering delis, they have this distinct smell I’m instantly drawn to. I think its that cured meat smell. Mmm.

IMG_0681 copy
I was dead set on having the Bacon Steak but they ran out so I had the Irish Beef Stew with Bacon Rice (Php 280) instead. It said this on the menu: “hearty stew simmered for hours in dark beer to bring out a unique caramel flavor.” It was kind of dumb of me to order though, considering I had beef stew the night before. When the food came, it smelled really good and the meat was so tender it crumbled at the poke of a fork. I don’t usually enjoy potatoes unless they’re already mushy and deeply flavored by the stew so these were just about perfect. Taste wise, this was just alright. I don’t know how Irish beef stew is supposed to taste but the caramel flavor wasn’t distinct and to me, this needed more pepper. Good though, if you’re seriously craving.

IMG_0680 copy
Most of the meals in this place come with bacon rice which quite simply, is white rice topped with crispy bacon bits.

IMG_0679 copy
Carina likes tapa a lot so this was kind of a no brainer for her to order:Gourmet Tapa with Eggs and Bacon Rice (Php 280). I must say though, this was excellent. When I tried it, the meat almost tasted like steak. It was that good. I kinda wish I ordered this instead after I tried it but hey, there’s always next time.

IMG_0683 copy
For dessert, we had the Cappuccino Cake (Php 130). I don’t know if my taste buds are evolving or if that’s even possible but I’ve found myself unable to handle anything that’s too sweet; I water down my iced tea, get 25% sweetness in those milk tea places and ask vendors to hold the sugar on my fruit shakes. I’m no coffee drinker either but the cake tasted just about right and it wasn’t disgustingly sweet.

Overall, I look forward to the next time I’m in the same vicinity as Poco Deli. I’m hoping they overstock their Bacon Steak just cause I know a ton of people who’d like to try it as well. Why is it always sold out anyway? Is it that good? I’m also extremely curious about the Wagyu Sausage. Next time, next time.

Poco Deli
21 East Capitol Drive, Kapitolyo
Pasig City, Metro Manila
Philippines
Phone: (02) 477-4332
Click for the menu

Leave a Reply

