Malasimbo Kesong Puti at the MMF 2012

Untitled
To be honest, I don’t have particular memories with kesong puti (which translates to white cheese in English). I was never fond of bread. At the Manila Music Festival though, I noticed hoards of people would flock to the opposite end of the sandy venue to a simple tent dedicated to selling nothing but these sandwiches under the name “Malasimbo Kesong Puti”. Curious myself, I trudged on to find what about this sandwich was so special.

Untitled
Here is a photo of the first sandwich I ate exactly. This boasted a simple concoction of kesong puti, seasoned with herbs and olive oil packed in a fresh, hot pan de sal all for a decent Php 50 pricetag. The lady manning the booth said that they got their kesong puti from Bulacan when I expressed wanting to purchase some then and there. I had three sandwiches that day because they were just too good to pass up on, this was practically all I ate while shooting at the festival.

Untitled
This is how the cheese looked after they prepared it. I plan to make this at home when I find the perfect kesong puti. This wasn’t the vinegar-y sort, it was just creamy and slightly salted. It’s often compared to cottage cheese and it’s made of unskimmed carabao’s milk. All they added to the cheese was Herbs de Provence and Basso Olive Oil and that was that.

2 comments
  1. Mmmmm. If u have a good recipe, can you post it? I remember my mom (from Bulacan) made a version of this a few times but I didn’t really pay attention. It wasn’t authentic though as Water Buffalo milk isn’t sold in the local groceries. 🙂

    • Sarie said:

      I’ve never tried making kesong puti here at home but if I do, you’ll be the first to know!

Leave a Reply

