Elbert’s Cheesesteak Sandwiches – Rockwell Powerplant, Makati

Untitled
Tucked in the basement level of Rockwell’s Powerplant Mall is a fine establishment called Elbert’s Cheesesteak Sandwiches. The name speaks for itself really, considering that’s possibly the best thing to order here. Bathed in an unabashedly pink neon glow and decked in houndstooth, Elbert’s sure is hard to miss.

Untitled
An economical choice more than anything, Carina and I shared an order of the 8 inch American Cheesesteak Sandwich (Php 320) and had it split into two. The sandwich was packed with USDA grade beef, caramelized onions and sharp American cheddar. Yummy.

Untitled
Here’s what it looked like halfway. I had a tough time eating with it wrapped. After a couple of bites in, I found myself chewing paper. At first glance, the sandwich resembled a snack more than a meal but I suppose once you get into it, you’ll find yourself filled up. Cheese is cheddar which is naturally salty which aids to that full feeling.

Untitled
Onion Rings and Fresh-cut Fries (Php 60 each) I’m an onion person. That was a weird sentence but it’s true, I love onions and anything with onions so I’m a tough critic when it comes to onion rings. They’re really hard to get wrong which is why I really, really judge. The rings at Elbert’s are crispy and good enough to curb the craving. They’re similar to the ones at Brother’s (which are my favorite alongside the rings at Nolita) but the difference is that Elbert’s ring batter feels a tad too heavy especially with the thinner, smaller rings. As for the fries, I don’t eat them! But Carina thought they were good.

Untitled
Here’s a silly photo of my perpetual date for posterity. 🙂 I noticed they had a soft serve ice cream machine so we sampled it and it was really good. Rich and creamy vanilla just oozing with soft. I remember it was a tad pricey though for the size of the cup so we didn’t get any and settled for the free taste. Maybe they’ll consider bigger cups!

Elbert’s Cheesesteak Sandwiches
Basement Level, Powerplant Mall
Rockwell Drive cor. Estrella St.
Makati City, Metro Manila
Philippines
Telephone: 381-2450

1 comment
  1. u8mypinkcookies said:

    we love their cheesesteaks too!

Leave a Reply

