Forty Hands – Yong Siak St. Singapore


I’m not a coffee drinker. In fact, the farthest I go with coffee usually is with mocha cake or coffee jelly. Really not a fan. It smells great and that’s about it so this is an entry about a cool coffee shop in Singapore I only got to hang out in. Forty Hands was an interesting looking cafe tucked away in Tiong Bahru’s Yong Siak Street. Coffee there is more expensive than in most places but both Carina and Luis said it was very much worth it.


Here’s what it looks like inside. It was pretty full when we were there, in the middle of a hot afternoon and the air conditioning in here was cold. I wasn’t surprised everyone chose to hang out here. Forty Hands prices their coffee, if I remember right, at around SG$4.50 on average. They justify this by serving quality coffee, handpicking trusted, skilled roasters and only stocking Certified Fair Trade Coffee Beans.


The food there looked appetizing as well but I wasn’t that hungry. The Medditeranean Lamb Sandwich and Truffle Mushroom Sandwich , I assume are huge sandwiches to be able to justify the SG$11 price tag.


And then Carina’s coffee came. I forgot what she ordered, as did she, but she finished this cup up and said it was excellent. My friend Alex, who actually lives in Tiong Bahru said she usually has her coffee there on a very average basis.


They even had this wheel on the wall for you to determine what type of coffee you’d appreciate best. Interesting, yes?


This is what I had while sitting around there, just plain water. It’s cute that they serve them in these huge medicine bottles. I was instantly reminded of Bactidol. This was also the second instance I saw a Singaporean shop re-use tin cans. It fits their aesthetic well.


We probably sat there for an hour or so, taking a break from the heat outside. These chairs may not look it but they were extremely comfortable. If I lived in Singapore, I’d probably hang out here a lot. It’s pricier than a bunch of other coffee places but you’re paying for quality. I’ll definitely be back next time for that Lamb Sandwich.

Forty Hands
Blk 78 Yong Siak St #01-12,
Tiong Bahru Estate,
Singapore 163078
OPEN:
Tuesdays: 8:30am to 6:30pm
Wednesdays and Thursdays: 8:30am to 10pm
Fridays and Saturdays: 8:30am to 11pm
Sundays 8:30am to 6:30pm
CLOSED MONDAYS

Leave a Reply

