Boon Tong Kee – Singapore


Before going on this trip, I came up with a list of the food I wanted to try and good places to eat in. It was my third time in Singapore and I hadn’t ever had Boon Tong Kee, which supposedly is a famous chicken rice place so it was on the list. I only tried Singapore chicken rice in smaller restaurants, hawkers and mall food courts prior to this visit. Due to circumstance at around 10pm, we ended up on River Valley Road.


Greeting us at the window, these naked chickens sure looked appetizing to my hungry self. We ordered a whole Crispy Roast Chicken (SG$26.80) because we were starved and shared it in the middle.


Don’t be fooled by these boiled peanuts. They put them on our table so we thought they were free and ate just cause we were hungry and then we were charged SG$2.00 afterwards. It’s like train robbery! I didn’t have to eat those damn peanuts! Just another tip, don’t use their wet wipes either because they will charge you for them. Don’t be fooled. They’re right at your table. Trickery, I hate thee. Even if the peanuts were good, I didn’t like being fooled into paying for them.


Before the attack, this was what our beautiful chicken looked like. The skin was roasted to a crisp as promised and very tasty, it was salty but not too salty. The meat wasn’t too juicy but it’s not something I can consider dry either. It was good, I think better than the Wee Nam Kee we have here but it’s not something I’d look for at all. Stevie’s Chicken, here in Manila, makes their chicken way better. It’s juicy beyond compare.


The Chicken Rice (SG$0.60) was served in pyramid form which was quite cute. The plate was quite huge as well so this was a good amount. In terms of taste, the rice was alright but I found it a tad bit dry. Maybe it was old rice or something because we were there so late, I don’t know but my mom can make this better. Definitely not something I’d look for when I’m visiting Singapore at all.

Overall for people who don’t really have expectations or just don’t know any better, Boon Tong Kee would be an okay place to have their chicken rice. After all, it is famous for that. Through the years though, maybe the quality depleted? Or maybe I was there at a bad time, I don’t know. All I can say is that it was nothing special and utterly forgettable. My advice is to buy Prima Taste Hainanese Chicken Rice Mix in the supermarket and make it yourself. I buy some for my mom and when she cooks with it, it’s the best chicken rice I’ve had. I’m not even joking. You can find that mix in Rustan’s for about Php 250 which isn’t bad at all considering you can cook a whole lot.

Boon Tong Kee
425 River Valley Road,
Singapore, Singapore
Contact: +6736 3213

3 comments
  1. Liana said:

    Haha, they like to do that no? Remember when we went to the hole-in-the-wall really yum dim sum place in Chinatown with Rox? They charged us for the peanuts and wipes too. Trust no one! Lol.

    • Sarie said:

      Ugh, yes. I don’t know what’s more annoying, being served nuts or having wipes on your table already! Cheats!

  2. Gino said:

    should do your homework before you travel.. Google never fails.

Leave a Reply

