Ted’s La Paz Batchoy – Iloilo

IMG_3317 copy
A few days before I left for Iloilo, I went to a small get together and was fortunate enough to meet a guy who actually grew up there. Naturally, I asked him to give me a run down of places worth going to and food worth trying so he did and this was one of them. Ted’s is a popular and fairly mainstream Batchoy franchise which according to their logo, has been around since 1945.

IMG_3264 copy
Presenting the Special Pork Batchoy. At Php 60, this hefty bowl is completely worth it. Coming from someone who actually enjoys having Lucky Me’s La Paz Batchoy (I have a huge burn scar on my leg to prove it), the real thing really is eons better. There was an abundance of pork meat which was tasty and tender and the chicharon bits were a welcome surprise. The broth was also as rich as I had expected. The only thing I didn’t like so much was the fact the noodles were pretty tough. Is that normal? If it is, then I don’t like how it is.

IMG_3262 copy
In a bigger bowl, they served the Beef Batchoy which was priced at Php 75. Beef Batchoy is exactly like the Special Batchoy except they used beef instead of pork. I was already happy with the Special Batchoy but when I tried this, it was all the more satisfying. The soup was so much tastier and the beef was mighty tender. I did miss the chicharon bits but the soup makes up for it completely.

I noticed that eating out in the province really is so much more affordable. I can’t even compare how much it costs to eat out here in Manila. I ate in Ted’s before actually finding out they had a couple of Manila branches. Find Ted’s at SM Mall of Asia, Festival Mall and Ali Mall.

Ted’s La Paz Batchoy
La Salette Building
Valeria St.,
Iloilo City, Iloilo,
Philippines

Leave a Reply

