Gourmet Saturday

Once every weekend, my family makes it a point to meet up and have a reunion. It’s always nice to get to sit amongst the people you love, to talk and share a memorable meal. If you’re close to me, you’ll know that even if I really do enjoy eating out, I still believe that the best meals are my family meals at home. I’m blessed to be born into a family of talented cooks and passionate eaters which I guess, explains my natural obsession with food. Yesterday, in joint celebration of Tito Dading’s and Tita Ginger’s birthday, my Tita Ginger prepared a fine meal I will not soon forget.


It all started with a platter of Jamon Serrano, Chorizo Pamplona, cream cheese, French butter, and a basket of bread. Now, I won’t expound on the cold cuts much because jamon and chorizo hardly ever disappoint me. The butter though was absolutely heavenly. It had a rich, full taste and the sea salt crystals melt in your mouth.


Next up was what a whole lot of us were looking forward to, Foie Gras with Apples & Salad with Raspberry Dressing. The Foie Gras was excellently seared and was somewhat buttery in both flavor and texture. I don’t remember when in my lifetime I’ve ever had foie gras but my tita insists that yesterday wasn’t my first. I usually don’t like anything that has liver in it but goose liver is just so good. It doesn’t have that usual metallic liver taste and it melts in right in your mouth. The fried apples were a nice touch that balanced out the slight duck taste and went well with the salad.


When we were done with the salad, the Sage Brown Butter Pasta was up and this was a mighty surprise. My tita bought fresh noodles for the pasta. This really does make a difference, giving the noodles a certain bounce. In terms of flavor, this was more lemony than anything which made it deceptively light tasting great in contrast to the foie we had earlier. Among all the dishes, this is the one I am still craving for (despite the fact I had two servings already).



Next came the Prawns with Roasted Vegetables. The prawns were adequately seasoned with salt and pepper and tasted very fresh. The vegetables on the other hand, were roasted and drizzled with balsamic reduction which gave it a sweet yet acidic kick. I enjoyed the bell peppers most.


This ranks among the top of my favorite of all favorites, Duck Confit. My tita had a great idea of serving us Mojos Fried in Duck Fat which did wonders for the potatoes. Just last year when I was in Paris, we’d head to Monoprix to buy cans of duck confit to cook in the apartment for dinner. It’s fried to perfection and fattening to a fault but just really, really a pleasure to eat. I usually enjoy the skin crispy. Another serving suggestion would be to fly whole garlic cloves in the duck fat itself or make sinangag aka garlic rice with some duck oil. Mmm.


Tomatoes with Cilantro Pesto were served perhaps to counter the saltiness of the duck confit. This tasted light and absolutely fresh.


For dessert, we had the San Marcos Cake (Php 700) which was awesome. It was my first time to try this and I guess to adequately describe it, I’d have to say that it’s pretty much a cream puff cake with a yummy yema top. I’ve been reading on “going Primal” and sort of dieting so I’ve been trying to lay off the sweets. This was an exception though considering I’ve never tried it before.


This is what my slice looked like. Check out that thick layer of cream. The nice thing about this cake is that it’s light and not really too sweet so you can trick yourself into having a huge serving without getting sick of it or getting full. I tricked myself into feeling healthy for all that I ate by capping the meal off with a cup of Chamomile tea and some slices of Pomelo. But it didn’t work. I was the fullest I’ve been in a long while and I don’t regret it one bit. My Tita Ginger is an excellent cook!

San Marcos Cake
The Pastry Cart by Camille Ocampo
0916.745 7729
thepastrycart@gmail.com

Tita Ginger doesn’t cater or anything but she does make the best Butter Cake in town which deserves a whole other entry all-together but since I’m already writing about her food, I thought it would be appropriate to say. She also makes these yummy Brownie Bites with a Caramel Center. These are both made to order and come in different sizes so call +632 853 0584 or text +639178118100 or +639178118140 and place your orders.

12 comments
  1. gingerparas said:

    I’m so Flattered Sarie πŸ™‚ i’m glad you enjoyed the meal, It is always a pleasure to cook for you πŸ™‚

    • Sarie said:

      So yum, Tita Ginger! As always! πŸ™‚ Also, I hope my descriptions of the food were correct! Hahaha

      • gingerparas said:

        The salad dressing was Rasberry πŸ™‚ The roasted vegetables had Thyme in it πŸ™‚ All described so yummily, I’m so kilig….They look so good in pics pala πŸ™‚

  2. So true! We always look forward to a good hearty meal with family. Your description takes me to that gastronomic experience all over again. Thank you so much Dads and Ger. I really enjoyed reading your blog Ate, with nice visuals to boot.

    • Sarie said:

      Thanks for the comment, Ninong! Looking forward to the next reunion at home. It’s just so much yummier that way!

  3. teresa said:

    Sarie, congratulations on your blog. Love the photos.

    • Sarie said:

      Thanks for reading Tita! πŸ™‚

    • Sarie said:

      Lol, thanks! I don’t think there’s any Filipino food in that spread at all.

  4. Kathy said:

    Wow… that all looks soooo wonderful! Especially the prawns, how beautiful! Great photos, btw

    • Sarie said:

      Thank you so much! It all tasted wonderful as well.

Leave a Reply

