Food Safari: Lunch by Chef Sau del Rosario

_MG_0832 copy
Our second stop was a six course lunch prepared by Chef Sau del Rosario. This was held at the Filipino-Spanish heritage house of Don Angel Pantaleon de Miranda in Angeles, Pampanga. This was built mainly using stone and wood in the year 1824. Centuries old, the house was in pretty good condition still and it was massive. We didn’t get to explore so much but based on what I did see, it was pretty cool. Chef Sau welcomed us with a Buko-Lychee drink that came with a cute little straw hat. I noticed he is fond of welcome drinks. I am fond of welcome drinks too.

_MG_0849 copy
Before the big meal though, Chef Sau and his staff showed us how to make Tamales. It’s sort of like kakanin but instead of being sweet like most of them, it’s savory cause it has chicken, egg and is doused in achuete oil.

_MG_0871 copy
Usually after cooking this, one wraps it in thick layers of banana leaves and then boils it before serving. It was my first time to try it and I found it rather odd. Not my cup of tea, the rice was soft and didn’t taste like anything really. I thought the dish was rather bland, honestly. I’d take the sweet kakanin over this anyday. After just one bite, I was ready for lunch.

_MG_0817 copy
First, we had Forest Fern Salad with a Coconut Vinegar dressing. I’m not too fond of any sort of vinegar whatsoever but I knew I had to give this a shot. Chef Sau said the greens were actual ferns from Pampanga. The salad had some flower petals and a large prawn that I thoroughly enjoyed. It was surprisingly good but certainly not something I think I’d ever look for since it had vinegar.


_MG_0878 copy
Next was Buro with Fried Catfish on a Mustard Leaf. When I heard that we were being served buro, my insides got jumbled. A Kapampangan friend of mine served me burong isda once and I absolutely couldn’t take it. This buro though didn’t have fermented fish but fermented rice. Combined with deep fried catfish shreds and the peppery mustard leaf, I thought this was an interesting and tasty combination. The buro itself had gingery hints and reminded me of arroz caldo. It didn’t taste fermented at all.

_MG_0888 copy
We were served Bayabas Sinigang na Baboy which translates to Guava Sinigang with Pork Ribs. Now, I’m used to the Bayabas Sinigang they serve at Fely J’s so I had my own set of expectations. This was presented to us in a really cute manner, arranged in small cups. Chef Sau came out into the dining room to personally pour the sinigang soup in our cups. I found this dish to be rather disappointing. The soup didn’t taste guava-y. It had a strong pork taste and that’s about it. It wasn’t bad but it there was nothing guava-y about it apart from the little slice. Go to Fely J’s instead.

_MG_0894 copy
The next dish was Relyenong Bangus au Jus which I enjoyed quite a lot, along with the others at my table. It was different from the relyeno I’m used to which is usually served dry. The bangus retained its smokey flavor and was cooked perfectly. My only issue with this dish was the tinik, but apart from that it was a pleasure to eat.

_MG_0897 copy
Last up was the Beef Morcon. This has to be my favorite. I loved it instantly. It’s ground beef rolled up with carrots, spices and other things I was not able to identify, combined with a rich tomato based sauce. It was served with some boiled pechay leaves and a little ball of rice. I could’ve eaten this all day. The beef had a pretty smokey taste and was really tender, the tomato sauce was bursting with flavor and even if the rice ball looks tiny, the sizing couldn’t have been more perfect. I really want to eat this again.

_MG_0909 copy
_MG_0907 copy
Right when we were all pretty stuffed and fulfilled, they brought the dessert out and there were three kinds; Jalea Ube, Tibok-Tibok and the Leche Flan. The tibok-tibok they served here was different from what was served in Mrs.Borromeo’s house and while this wasn’t bad, I preferred hers to Chef Sau’s. Chef Sau’s is only better on the count of the fact there were more coconut toppings. The flan was just okay with the dayap aftertaste a little stronger than I would like it to be. The dessert highlight was certainly the ube which tasted so buttery, it was great. The texture was perfect too, good enough to rival the ube from Good Sheperd Baguio but on a league of its own. Might I add that all of these were made with carabao milk. Yum!

As if this post didn’t already have enough pictures. I’m sorry, I just couldn’t help myself.

_MG_0853 copy

_MG_0829 copy

_MG_0825 copy

6 comments
  1. sakura said:

    What a wonderful post. I don’t think I’ve really had Filipino cuisine but your photos are mouthwatering. And the house is gorgeous!

    • Sarie said:

      Wow, thank you so much. 🙂

      The house is absolutely gorgeous and I’m glad it’s still in decent shape considering how old it is. You should definitely try Filipino food. I checked your blog out and I’m pretty sure there must be at least one Filipino restaurant in London. Let me know how that goes!

  2. Carina said:

    The house looks amazing, and the salad looks super pretty.

    • Sarie said:

      The house was massive! All wood too, the floor was gorgeous but it was too dark to photograph. If I were really rich, I’d buy old houses and fix them up. I think you would’ve liked the salad because it was vinegarry and there was a big prawn.

  3. nancy said:

    ´tho ive lived in Angeles city before.. (living in Germany now for 15 yrs)…ive never been in that big house but i know wheres this house located coz all the vehicles used to passed by there.Now theyre making it into a restaurant? wow..i need to go and visit this house when i can go home..i miss Angeles city!

    • Sarie said:

      Hi Nancy! The house isn’t a restaurant, I think Chef Sau just specially requested to use the house so he could feed us there. 🙂 If you’re interested, I think you can join the same Food Safari, I did. It was organized by a group in Manila called Tour Flair.

Leave a Reply

