Chuck’s Deli The Fort

Chuck's Deli
Chuck’s Deli has been around serving sandwiches of great proportion for quite sometime now and if you haven’t dined in this establishment, it’s about time you did. I am writing this because I’ve never really been a sandwich person or much of a bread person either. I prefer rice through and through and have the belly to prove it. My aversion to all things bread related changed when I set foot in Chuck’s.

The menu is simple really and boasts an artillery of sandwiches (better known as slabwiches), burgers, salads, sides and creamy milkshakes. The ambiance is really casual and easy-going; great for just hanging out to kick back with some friends. Throughout the almost year of their existence, I’ve managed to try a whole lot of their stuff and I shall review them here.

Pictured above is a slabwich called The Reuben (P275) which contains homemade Angus corned beef, Swiss cheese, mustard, sauerkraut and the special Chuck’s sauce. This is a really great sandwich, the flavors balance out and taste isn’t compromised even with the bread. In fact, the bread is perfection, firm but not too hard and quite soft on the inside which makes the consistency right about enjoyable to eat.

Chuck's Deli
If you’re close to me, you’ll notice that I always have my sandwiches open faced. I have my burgers that way too just cause I like the inside more than the outside. Open faced was how I decided to have The Buffy (P255), a buffalo chicken fillet served with garlic sauce and some coleslaw. Hmm… I found the marinade of the buffalo fillet to be overpowering and much too spicy. You might say that was because I ate this open faced but even upon first bite, the taste stayed in my mouth so strongly that it was tough to eliminate even after sipping their Strawberry Arce Dairy Ice Cream/Carabao Milkshake (P165). Their milkshakes are absolutely deadly but just really so rich. Prepare to gain 5 pounds though after indulging.

Chuck's Deli
There was this one time I was feeling fat so I just ordered their Cream of Mushroom Soup (P145) which came in a surprisingly huge serving. I was happy to see that this tasted pretty fresh and was dark with ground mushroom bits. Mmm, just the way I like it. I can’t believe I forgot to mention that this place serves homemade potato chips!!! They’re thinly sliced potato bits fried to a crisp. Really heaven (can’t get enough) and hell (on the hips) especially when enjoyed with either of the sauces right on your table. There’s the garlic sauce and the Chuck’s sauce which tastes to me like its spicy variant.

Other slabwiches I’ve tried are Roast Beef (P255)and Faking Duck (P185). The Roast Beef slabwich just contains slices of angus roast beef au jus which I found pretty bland actually so I wouldn’t order this again. Bland but not bad really, just not for me. Faking Duck, on the other hand, apart from being one of the cheapest slabwiches on the menu is absolutely mouthwatering. I’m a huge Peking Duck nerd and if hoisin sauce, leeks and a roast pork subsitute (good enough to replace duck) is inside a slab of bread then I’m all for it.

Chuck’s Deli
(Right across Market-Market, beside the Eco Store)
141 C Serendra Piazza, Bonifacio High Street, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City, Metro Manila, Philippines
Telephone: 576-4210
Open daily from 11am – 10pm

1 comment
  1. u8mypinkcookies said:

    gotta try this. i love sandwiches more than rice!

Leave a Reply

