Madam Kwan’s KL

IMG_1923 copy

The quest for the best Fish Head Curry began even before I set foot in Malaysia. An uncle of mine mentioned that the yummiest Fish Head Curry he tried was in Madam Kwan’s which is quite a popular restaurant chain in Malaysia. Right after settling down at the hotel, this was the first place we decided to eat in.

Madam Kwan's

Char Kway Teow is a stir-fried rice noodle dish usually with egg, bean sprouts, leeks and prawns. If you can’t already tell from the photo, it’s pretty oily which makes it high in fat content. I must say though, Madam Kwan’s had me at Char Kway Teow. This is insanely delicious and people should eat here even just to try this.

Madam Kwan's
Their Chicken Satay is another strong point. It’s tender, has the right amount of flavor, with spices that blend well together. And I may have forgotten to photograph it but they serve a huge bowl of peanut sauce which is completely drool worthy. If you read my Shabuway post, my love for peanut sauce has no shame.

Madam Kwan's
I ordered the Nasi Lemak which is, as the menu stated, among their best sellers. Evidently, this serves as a complete meal. It was the first time I’d ever eaten Nasi Lemak and I’m so glad I tried it. I don’t know if I did it right, but I basically mixed everything with my white rice; the flossy stuff, the chicken’s curry sauce and the dilis and sambal on the side. I wish I were more well versed with the ingredients but alas, I am not. Anyway, this is quite a spicy dish and is really heavy but also quite good. Order if you’re used to eating things hot and if you are a chicken curry fiend like me!

Madam Kwan's
We ordered a lot actually. Tried their House Fried Chicken which isn’t bad really but isn’t worth ordering either. Pictured above is their Beef Rendang which isn’t spectacular either, not coconutty enough sadly! Sad cause shredded meat has the potential to pack a punch of flavor.

IMG_1916 copy
I think this is kang-kong served with the Malaysian version of bagoong. It was really tasty and good, salty but not as salty as our Filipino bagoong. Why is all their food so tasty? Ah, now I am craving Malaysian.

What I noticed about Malaysian cuisine is that it doesn’t exactly stray much too far away from our local Filipino flavors. Madam Kwan’s, they say, is the Malaysian version of Fely J’s; the kind of restaurant you take your balikbayan relatives to or tourists who want to dip their feet in Malaysian cuisine. I sure enjoyed it and it’s definitely a must try if you’re too lazy to hit the streets for authentic eats. You may also be wondering what the heck happened to the Fish Head Curry I was raving about in the beginning? It was constantly sold out and I ate here thrice without trying it.

Madam Kwan’s Truly Malaysian Cuisine
Lot 420/421, Level 4, Suria KLCC, KL City Centre
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Phone: +03 2026 2297

2 comments
  1. Tita Ginger said:

    the kang kong is cooked with Belacan which Sarie rightly describes as the Malaysian Bagoong. So happy you are also such a foodie 🙂 Glad to know my recipes will be possibly used by You in the future 🙂

  2. Sarie said:

    Of course! I love your cooking. I just need to work on mine cause I’m still palpak. When I try experimenting in the kitchen sometimes mama says sayang the food. 😦 HAHA

Leave a Reply

