Wee Nam Kee Manila

I had a vicious craving for Hainanese Chicken today. I don’t know why but I’ve been thinking about chicken rice a lot these past few days so I dragged my girlfriend over to Wee Nam Kee. Since we were close by, the plan was fool proof and I could get my food!

Wee Nam Kee

Now, I think this is the first time I’ve actually eaten in Wee Nam Kee. A kind friend once bought me take out so I managed to try their Chicken Rice but you know, being in the place always makes a difference. Carina and I both got the Personal Chicken Rice Set (P168) which comes with the basic necessities of every Hainan meal; soup, chicken and rice.

Wee Nam Kee

You can pick between having your chicken steamed or roasted. While steamed is the more traditional and healthy option, I opted to get it roasted this time just because the skin packs more flavor. At 168 bucks, I can’t find anything to complain about. The chicken was flavorful and there was an abundance of ginger and the sweet soy sauce right at my table. The rice though wasn’t anything spectacular at all, in fact, it was a tad dry.

Wee Nam Kee is a Singaporean franchise who opened its first international branch right here in Manila. The chicken was good and the personal set was well worth it but only at that price. In my opinion, the best Hainanese Chicken Rice award still goes to Stevie’s (which you have to pre-order before devouring) and Tao Yuan over at Malvar St. Manila or their newly opened Resorts World branch.

Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice
Restaurants at the Ayala Triangle Gardens
Makati Avenue, Makati City, Philippines
Telephone: +632 846-8924
Operating Hours: Everyday 11am to 10pm
Helpful Hint: You should park next to the Filipino Heritage Library which is right across the back of the Manila Peninsula Hotel. Ayala Triangle is just a short walk away from there and it saves you from the hassle of going underground. Plus I find that it’s easy to find space there.

1 comment
  1. u8mypinkcookies said:

    yummy!! i liked the steamed chicken with noodles.

Leave a Reply

