Din Tai Fung KL

Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung made its mark in the 90’s when The New York Times pegged it as one among the top 10 restaurants in the world. There are branches spread over 10 countries but the original is housed in Taipei. They’re known primarily for their Xiao Long Bao which are little dumplings with soup inside them. Now, I’ve always wondered how they put the soup inside but the photo I posted of the chefs above does not reveal this secret.

Din Tai Fung

I was in Malaysia last June for my grandma’s birthday and I finally had the opportunity to get some Din Tai Fung! My tita made it a point to order a huge variation of dishes. The highlight of course, was their specialty, the Xiao Long Bao, so we ordered two kinds, the original sort and the truffle.

Din Tai Fung

While they were both really good, I preferred the original pork Xiao Long Bao to the Truffle. Don’t get me wrong though, I love truffle (coming soon is a post about the best truffle restaurant I’ve ever dined in) but the strong, earthy, mushroom-esque taste isn’t as rich as good ol’ pork. The perfect way to eat Xiao Long Bao is to mix 1 part soy sauce with 3 parts vinegar into the ginger shreds. I dab a bit of chili in there as well, just cause I like things hot. You put the dumpling in the Chinese soup spoon provided, poke it with a chopstick and sip the soup then proceed to dipping.

Din Tai Fung
May I present to you the Spicy Wonton in Chili Oil that was absolutely delectable. It’s so good, if I were paying, I would’ve ordered more. I’m imagining having this right now with hot steamed rice and my mouth is watering. Too bad there are no Din Tai Fungs in Manila. There is a restaurant though along Connecticut St. in the Greenhills area that boasts a stellar Xiao Long Bao and that, my friends, is Lugang Cafe.

Overall, I believe Din Tai Fung lives up to the hype which is why it breaks continental borders with its Xiao Long Bao. I’ll be in Singapore next month and there are a bunch of branches there so I’ll see to it that I drop by.

Din Tai Fung
Lot No. 6.01.05, Level 6
Pavilion Mall KL
168, Jalan Bukit Bintang
55100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel: 03-2148 8282
Business Hours: 11am – 10pm
With branches in Taiwan, Japan, China, Singapore, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand, Australia and the USA.

Din Tai Fung
We also got this order of Fried Porkchop and their Egg Fried Rice which was superb. Both were flavorful, tasty and fried well indeed. I’d definitely get this again. Apart from this, we ordered the Drunken Chicken which is steamed, tender and bursting with flavor.

Din Tai Fung
Spicy Jellyfish. Always a favorite.

Din Tai Fung
I didn’t quite get the name down but these are fried pumpkin sticks and they are so, so sweet. Apologies for the blurry photo.

Din Tai Fung
Greens that have no name topped with shrimp. This was good too, simple dish that I have nothing to complain about. Fresh vegetables have a certain kind of crisp when you bite into them, this had it.

Noteworthy orders with no photograpic aid include the Drunken Chicken and Hot Prawn Salad. Order as you will though, its hard to go wrong with Din Tai Fung.

4 comments
  1. Tita Ginger said:

    Sars the greens we ordered is called Bok Choy. Post about Under the Bridge Crab.

    • Sarie said:

      Haha, will do but unfortunately I only have one photo from the Crab place. 😦

  2. nayna said:

    For soup dumplings i believe they use jellied, concentrated stock (making stock uses a lot of bones. The collagen content firms up the broth, so chilled, it’s in a manageable solid state) :] Backreading. Your blog makes me homesick and hungry!

    • Sarie said:

      Alo Nayna, are you still in Boracay? I wonder how tough it’d be to try making some xiao long bao at home. Have you ever tried doing this? Also, we should all go eat out when you’re here. 😀

Leave a Reply

