Oh My Gulay! Vegetarian Cafe Baguio

I go to Baguio with my family at least once in a year and never have I ever heard about Oh My Gulay! It’s a relatively large cafe owned by world renown filmmaker Kidlat Tahimik who also happens to be a Baguio City native. My friend insisted that we’d dine in the vegetarian cafe on one of our last days there. We had a tough time finding the La Azotea Building even if it’s right smack on Session. Upon entering the building, you’ll find that it’s pretty cramped and retro based on interior. The building’s old and it was no shocker that it was since a lot of the architectural structures in Baguio are old anyway. When we got to the top most floor though, I was in for a real treat.


Oh My Gulay! The place was huge. In fact, this is just the bottom half of it. The waiter seated us at the upper balcony area which overlooked the other building tops on Session. It was really, really pretty and unexpected reminiscent of Peter Pan’s Neverland. The balcony area we were sitting on was a boat like structure, kind of like Captain Hook’s ship. Also, I have a thing for high ceilings, if you must know.


Their menu was pretty simple and consisted of different sorts of appetizer and pasta dishes. Since it was a cafe, I thought to order a cup of hot chocolate which to my dismay, tasted exactly like Swiss Miss. Nothing at all like the wonderful cup I had in Cafe by the Ruins. Don’t order this, you’re better off buying sachets in the grocery.


For my main dish, I ended up ordering the Kabute (P100) which consisted of pasta sauce made of mushroom, cheese and milk. Looks can mightily be deceiving. The noodles were far from al dente, they were mushy and soft. Exactly how I do not like them. The sauce was bland and the mushrooms were scarce. This tasted like milk mush in my mouth. Do not order this unless you are 5 years old and below.


My friend got the Anak ng Putanesca (P120) which was better than the Kabute but not by a lot. It had the same mushy noodles. The veggies tasted fresh but the sauce itself was a tad too sweet. Way too sweet to be a pasta dish. Order if you like sweet pasta, in my case, I didn’t like this.


It’s kind of a shame that the photo I have of the only dish I actually liked from OMG! is a blurry mess. This is the Talong Parmigiana (P120) which consists of breaded eggplant atop bread with pomodoro sauce and basil. This was quite sweet too but it meshed well together.

Verdict: It’s an experience to dine here and while the food isn’t particularly great, the ambiance is a pleasant surprise. Prices are quite reasonable in my opinion. Again, don’t order what we ordered cause they didn’t turn out spectacularly.

Oh my Gulay, Baguio
5/F La Azotea Bldg., Session Road
Baguio City, Benguet

Leave a Reply

