Mamou Too – Rockwell, Makati


It would be just right to say that Mamou is one among my top favorite restaurants in the country. It’s really the best and as I type this, I am salivating just thinking of when I can eat there again next. The problem with being 22 and not being filthy rich is that I only eat there when I’m with my parents. Fortunately though, the last time I was in Rockwell, my brother and I did some Christmas shopping with our dad. I found out this second Mamou branch just opened so we ended up eating there. It was heaven.


It was already late by the time we got started. We were all tired and hungry so we wanted a no frills experience and cut straight to the chase. Instead of beating around the bush with a slew of appetizers and pasta dishes, we settled with the Soft Shell Crab Salad (Php 400) for starters. The soft shell crab pieces were deep-fried with a light batter and a hint of salt, just the way I like them. I don’t know what the dressing was called but it was sweet and went well with everything else. We usually also get Cracked Cheese with Fuet and Honey (Php 295) which is basically a simple combination of dried sausage, Parmigiano-Reggiano that you dip yourself in some honey. It’s a great combination of salty and sweet.


This photo does not do the steak there justice. Admittedly it’s bad and it makes the steak look eons tinier than it is. I think it’s mostly because this is a photo of half-eaten steak. I prioritized gobbling some meat up before actually photographing the dish and I’m not sorry. Presented here is half an order of the 28 oz. Twin Angus Ribeye USDA Prime Grade Steak (Php 2800). This beast is served on a hot plate, swimming in its own oil and garnished with bits of fried steak fat. It’s tender and juicy on the inside with the meat flavor so close to melted butter; the top is kind of charred and just tasty. It is the finest steak you’ll have in Manila, people say it’s really similar to Peter Luger in New York. I enjoy every bite with a dash of the sea salt they serve with it at the table. Every steak order comes with two side dishes, I enjoy getting the Creamed Spinach and the Red Steak Rice.


My dad saw something new on the menu he was curious to try so we ordered the Steamed Live Maine Lobster (Php 2900). When it got to the table, it was huge. I’d never seen a lobster that big. On impulse, I nicked it’s biggest claw and opened it up to find a load of meat. It was packed and I ate it all with generous helpings of lemon butter. The lobster also came with a side dish which was the Red Rice cooked in Lobster Fat. I’m not so big on shellfish fat so this was just okay.


I’m posting a top view photo of this lobster just cause you need to see it in relation to a spoon, fork and the entire platter. Apparently, they fly their lobsters all the way here from Maine alive. That explains why it is evidently called the Steamed Maine Lobster on the menu and why they are abnormally huge. I’m still floored just by looking at the photos. Lobsters this big give off a lot of meat and surprisingly, it was both fresh and firm. It came with a vinegarish sauce and the lemon butter sauce. I hate vinegar so the butter sauce won me over.


Even if I’ve dined there a lot, I can never seem to get sick of their food. They’ve been consistent with great quality in both food and service, I can’t wait to go back for more. It’s a good thing they have two branches now, both of which are fortunately close to where I live. That up’s the chances of my ending up there.

Mamou Too
R1/Lvl., Power Plant Mall, Rockwell Center
Makati City, Metro Manila
Philippines
(02) 822-6218
Operating Hours: 10:30 am – 10:00 pm

Mamou
Serendra, Bonifacio Global City
Taguig City, Metro Manila
Philippines
(02) 856-3569
Operating Hours: 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm, 6:00 pm – 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

